Hope

Since this summer, I have been training my spirit and mind to fully understand what hope truly is. When Mom died, I carried a little stone in my pocket that had the word “hope” inscribed on it. It is funny how a tangible object can help to train your spirit, to remind you of God’s purpose for us. The stone still sits on my dresser. I carry it every now and then, like when I went for my first ultrasound, or when I just feel a little sad.
This Christmas I have been having so much fun. I feel very little stress and I have enjoyed every activity, even shopping (which I usually dread). I have been more intentional with friends and family, and most of all, Jane. It makes the holidays feel so much more joyful and purposeful… and simpler. That is where hope comes in.
In a hopeless time for so many, the idea of hope seems to be more of an idea of wishful thinking. A dream. Biblical hope is something far different. It is a looking forward to fulfillment of promised that God made to us. It is knowing who God is. It is certain. It is reality. It is a life based on truth!

“Set your hope fully on the grace to be given you when Christ is revealed” -1 Peter 1:13
“The future belongs to those who belong to God, this is hope.” -W. T. Purkiser

Leave a Reply

