Provision

It is amazing how much God loves us. He reminds me everyday how deep and wide His love is. I quit my job, unexpectedly, at the end of June. Since then, the topic of family debate has been whether or not I need to go back to work. Many of my friends have asked me… and I don’t know. I know that my heart is to stay home with Jane, have more kids, and have a family. Chris and I have been working opposite schedules since 2004. It has been wonderful to have evenings at home together. Also, I feel the urgent desire to help people, children in particular. Maybe a job exists where I can do that, but one hasn’t surfaced yet.

Back to the topic of this post… God’s Provision. He has provided for our family, beautifully. We haven’t even missed the extra income. Our desire to go out to eat has been replaced by my rekindled desire to cook (didn’t really do much cooking while at PH-too tired). He provided me a part time job as a nanny for two great kids, He blessed us with good health, He blessed us with lower gas prices, He blessed us with such a joy-resting in Him and His love.

Have any of you read The Shack? It is very good. I am refreshed by knowing that God has no expectation of me. This is an exerpt from the book (Papa is God the Father). It talks about how God knows everything about us… our decisions-everything:

“But, why me? I mean, why Mackenzie Allen Phillips? Why do you love someone that is such a screw up? After all of the things I’ve felt in my heart toward you and all the accusations I have made, why would you even bother to keep trying to get through to me?”
“Beacause that is what Love does,” answered Papa. “Remember, Mackenzie, I don’t wander what you will do or what choices you will make. I already know. Let’s say, for example, I am trying to teach you how to not hide inside of lies, hypothetically of course,” she said with a wink. “And let’s say that I know it will take you forty-seven situations and events before you will actually hear me-that is before you will hear me clearly enough to agree with me and change. So when you don’t hear me the first time, I am not frustrated or disappointed. I am thrilled! Only forty-six more times to go! And that first time will be a building block to construct a bridge of healing that one day-that today-you will walk across.”

I think that is a great picture of how God loves us so much, how He keeps helping us to be more like Him, how He has a purpose for us in His plan, and how we just need to have faith that He is going to take care of us. We just need to Trust Him. That is when he truly provides…

One response

  1. Hi Carrie,My name is Jayne Brekelbaum and I read you comments about The Significant Woman Workshop on July 14th. I was the one that presented Embrace the Source. If you would like to go through the material a little slower, I would be happy to help you.May email is jaynebrek@cox.netGod Bless,Jayne

Leave a Reply

