My Mom

Mom when she was ten…

I guess that I am ready to post a blog about Mom. For those of you that don’t know, she died on May 31, 2008. She died of complete renal (kidney) failure in Waldron. She was in a coma (stupor) for the entire time she was in the hospital. There are just a few things that I want to say about that. If any of you ever have a loved one in the hospital in a coma, please research it so you know how to treat them. There are actual studies on patients’ responsiveness, how they feel, how to read their responses to know how they feel. I wish that I had done it sooner. The thing to remember is that they can hear…

In Randy Alcorn’s book Heaven, he talks a lot about how we, as Christians, have a false idea of what Heaven will be like; that many Christians don’t even long for it or look forward to it. Well I do… While Mom was in the hospital, I read to her from the book. My sisters would call me over to tell her more about what her body would be like, or what she would do there. I told her the best part was that she would get to see Jesus… everyday, all day, and that He would be the newest recipient of all of her needlepoint (I am pretty sure that I also told her that she would get to use real gold as thread. I am not sure this is biblical, but it might be). I told her about all of the people she would get to meet (mostly southern gospel singer-stars), but that in the END, she would be back on earth in no time, and that we would get to see her soon, and very soon. I think that it is important to be mindful of Heaven and the redeemed Earth. If you haven’t read the book yet, you should. They can also feel. My family and I caressed Mom’s hands and arms constantly. Talking and touching are big in my family. This part was very natural.

I miss Mom. I miss her very much. I am not sure how to feel about it, but I know that the experience changed me. I appreciate all of my friends and how they have been such good listeners. Thank you for letting me cry. Mom was a very caring woman. She was a great mom and a great wife to my Dad. She raised a bunch of kids and grandkids, she was pretty crafty, she was a good cook. She was like me. She liked the idea of a lot of things, and dabbled in them. But she was never exceptional at any of them. Just really good at a lot of them. One thing she was
exceptional at… Praying. That is how I want to be more like her.

Summer Reading List

Does anyone do this anymore? Chris made fun of me and asked if I thought I was in elementary school. I told him to be quiet, that this would be fun. Plus it is a little extra accountability to keep up with our Christian brothers and sisters (authors) and what Christ is teaching them. If anyone has any suggestions, I would love to have them! Also, I own a few of these, but not all of them. So, if you want to borrow any or have any to lend, drop us a line:)

1. Heaven by Randy Alcorn. This is quite a book; very long and deep, but VERY good.

2. The Case for Christ by Lee Strobel.

3. The Shack by William P. Young.

4. Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis. I have read this before, but not in a long time.

5. The Raggamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning.

6. 20/20 Vision by William and Amy Stearns. This book is SO good. I am only about halfway thorugh it, but I love it.

7. The Middle East for Dummies:)

8. Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World by Joanna Weaver. I am not a huge fan of this one, but it is on the list so I have to read it.

9. Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper.

10. Bible. Yes, I am reading this too.

You may be wondering how ever in the world is Carrie going to read all these books? You forget that I QUIT MY JOB! So I have a bit of free time. Anyone can join this club, the membership is free…