Wednesday Fun

On my day off today, I decided to get the house completely cleaned and organized. Hmm. On second thought, maybe I will kind of clean and organize, but mostly make tasty treats for me and Jane. So I set off.

Lets see… what can I make? 7 Layer Cookies, minus the walnuts add white chocolate chips. YUM! (in the process of tasting them, Jane asks, “whatcha eatin mommy?” I didn’t answer.) I am pretty notorious for adjusting recipes because I never have everything I need. Most of the time it works.

Chex mix…? Sure. I added sunflower seeds and double the worcestershire sauce and corn chex. Does anyone agree that the black bits are the best? Also, never open the oven and inhale while cooking this. The W. sauce fills your lungs with a funky fume.

7 Layer Cookies (Carrie’s version)
1/2 c. melted butter
1 c. graham cracker crumbs
1 1/2 c. chocolate chips
1 c. butterscotch chips
3/4 c. white chocolate chips
1 1/2 c. coconut
1 can sweetened condensed milk

Preheat oven to 350. Layer all ingredients, IN ORDER, in a sprayed 9X13 pan. Bake for 30 minutes. Cool completely before cutting into squares.

Chex Mix
1 stick of butter
3 tbs worcestershire sauce
1 1/2 tsp seasoned salt (I didn’t have this so I used salt, pepper, and paprika)
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
6 c. corn chex
3 c. wheat chex
1 c. peanuts
1 c. sunflower seeds
1 c. pretzel sticks

Preheat oven to 250. On a large baking sheet, melt butter in the oven. Stir in seasonings. Stir in remaining ingredients. Bake for 1 and a half hours, stirring every 15 minutes.

enjoy.

Leave a Reply

